What are the Florida Vehicle Insurance Requirements?
At the Law Offices of Keith Bregoff, P.A., our car accident attorney in Vero Beach knows that the very first line of defense between our clients and a successful personal injury claim is the negligent party’s insurance company.
The next obstacle for our Indian River County personal injury attorney is to determine how much insurance coverage the at-fault party has, which begins with the Florida auto insurance minimum requirements.
Here is what Florida drivers need to know about proof of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) automobile insurance.
What Types of Auto Insurance Coverage Are Required in Florida?
The Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) outlines the auto insurance coverage requirements for all four-wheeled vehicles in the state.
All drivers who register a vehicle in Florida must show proof of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) automobile insurance.
All PIP/PDL coverage must be issued by an insurance company licensed to sell policies in Florida or by qualifying for a self-insurance certificate issued by FLHSMV.
Any vehicle with a current Florida registration must carry a minimum of continuous insurance coverage, even if the vehicle is not being driven or is inoperable.
- $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) pays for injuries sustained in an accident regardless of who was at fault in the crash., up to the policy limit.
- $10,000 in Property Damage Liability
Property Damage Liability pays for the damage to other people’s property, up to the policy limit.
Other optional Florida car insurance coverage options include:
- Collision: Pays for repairs to your vehicle even if an accident is your fault.
- Medical Payment: Pays the 20% of medical bills that PIP does not cover, plus amounts over $10,000.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: Pays your claims if the at-fault driver has little or no liability insurance.
- Bodily Injury Liability: Pays for the other party’s medical bills and/or lost income over $10,000 if an accident is your fault. Coverage is commonly $100,000 per person, up to $300,000 per accident.
Florida does not require bodily injury liability insurance unless the driver has previously been in an accident or committed certain traffic violations.
What Happens When a Florida Driver Does Not Carry the Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements?
Failure to maintain the required auto or motorcycle insurance coverage in Florida may result in the suspension of your driver’s license and registration and a required reinstatement fee of up to $500.
If you have been injured by an underinsured or uninsured driver, our auto accident attorney may pursue your insurance coverage for your financial recovery needs.
Contact Our Skilled Vero Beach Personal Injury Lawyer to Schedule a Free Consultation
If you have been injured in a car accident caused by a negligent driver in Florida and are unsure how to pursue the proper insurance coverage for your financial recovery needs, contact our experienced personal injury lawyer in Vero Beach at the Law Offices of Keith Bregoff today by calling 772-492-8967 to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case.
We can protect your rights from the beginning and help build your case for success.